LaRose Announces Transition Leadership, Launches Website

COLUMBUS - Following Tuesday’s Election Day victory, Ohio Secretary of State-Elect Frank LaRose today announced his plans to lead a smooth transition from the administration of outgoing Secretary of State and Lieutenant Governor-Elect Jon Husted. Secretary-Elect LaRose has enlisted former Ohio Speaker of the House JoAnn Davidson and former Secretary of State Ken Blackwell to serve as co-chairs of his transition team. Merle Madrid, a veteran of Ohio politics and GOP campaigns, will direct the day-to-day operations of the transition in a volunteer capacity.

“I deeply appreciate the support that the voters of the Buckeye State have shown me in this election and I’m humbled that they have entrusted me with this responsibility,” LaRose said. “I am honored to have the guidance of Speaker Davidson and Secretary Blackwell as we put together a team who will work every day to serve Ohioans. We’re looking for dedicated professionals who will help me deliver a high level of customer service for the businesses and entrepreneurs who keep Ohio’s economy moving so our families can prosper. We are also looking for talented personnel to work with me as we ensure our state’s elections remain secure and accessible so every Ohio citizen can play an active role in our thriving democracy.”

LaRose will take the oath of office and begin his service as Ohio’s 51st* Secretary of State on Monday, January 14, 2019. Today, the LaRose transitionteam also launched For updates on the transition, information about inaugural activities and for information on how you can join LaRose in serving the people of Ohio by working in the Secretary of State’s office, visit This website offers a tool for resume submission and will be updated frequently as plans are announced for the Oath of Office Ceremony, Inaugural Celebration and the latest announcements from the LaRose Transition Team.



*LaRose will serve as the fifty-first Secretary of State for the State of Ohio. Since statehood in 1803 fifty Secretaries of State have served the citizens of Ohio. From 1788 through 1803 the Northwest Territory was served by three territorial Secretaries of State.

Grant Shaffer